Shan’t

25 Aug

Good morning,

Apologies for the delay in posting my next poem. I’ve been working on some new stuff but it’s not quite there yet so for now I’m posting a poem I wrote a couple of years back. It’s supposed to be a light-hearted take on a break-up but inevitably comes out a bit bitter… Yup,  sounds like most of my break-ups!

SHAN’T

I won’t apologise for what I said,
Only for the way in which it was said.
And the vase that went flying past your head.

I won’t tell you that I didn’t mean it all.
I mean, you were a bastard after all,
When I think of the thousands of times you didn’t call.

I shan’t lament your absence
Even though the house is sombre.

Thank god you took your paintings,
I couldn’t stand them any longer.

One Response to “Shan’t”

  1. Bernadine August 29, 2010 at 20:41 #

    I can most definitely relate to these thoughts and feelings. Great poem and I must say that I absolutely loved how you ended it. I could yes, feel the touch of bitterness, but that end really is absolutely perfect.

Leave a Reply

