Are you a Control Freak?

18 Aug

It’s half way though the week now, and all of us office monkeys out there are already getting excited about the weekend! This is the first of my poems that I’m publishing on here. If, like me, you are yet to find your dream job, I’m dedicating it to you. This is for anyone who has ever got angry at work, glared at their colleagues from behind the safety of your monitor and fantasised about one day being your own boss. (It’s also for those, like me, who just don’t know how to delegate.)

CONTROL FREAK

I sit, silently and seethe,
You repeat the question.
I try to focus on the screen and breathe.
You look at me, expectant.

Infuriated by your incompetence,
“Don’t worry, I’ll do it alone.”
My severe lack of tolerance
Expresses itself in the iciest of tones.

“Maybe you could show me how to…?”
My glare rises from the screen to your glasses.
“You know I think it’s best if I just…”
Your gaze drops from my frown to the floor.

I sit, silently and seethe,
Awaiting the next question.
“Do you, er… want a cup of tea?”
Might just dispel the tension.
 

 An original poem.

Happy Wednesday everyone, two and a half days til the weekend…

3 Responses to “Are you a Control Freak?”

  1. Robert Lloyd August 18, 2010 at 17:03 #

    You capture the essence of the workspace quite well. I cant stand stupidity at work…it is so frustrating and then try to be tolerant on top of that? Egads. This is a very good poem thank you for sharing.

  2. lapoetisa August 18, 2010 at 18:28 #

    Hi Robert,

    Thanks so much for your comment. It’s always lovely to receive encouragement! 🙂

  3. Paul Andrew Russell August 22, 2010 at 01:57 #

    Very nice. We’ve all been there haven’t we? You captured the frustration well.

    Nice to meet you.

    Paul

Leave a Reply

